Team Wellington Youth win Championship

In the final round of the ASB National Youth League, Team Wellington Youth sealed the National Title against Canterbury United in Christchurch on Sunday. A victory for Team Wellington, and Southern United dealing with Waitakere United would be enough for this young team to win the title.

Waitakere fell to Southern United in dramatic style losing 5 – 4 in Dunedin, while in Christchurch at ASB Football Park (English Park), both teams endured extreme weather conditions. Play was delayed for 15 minutes in the first half when both teams ran for the changing sheds as the Christchurch weather turned for the worst. A vicious hailstorm accompanied by thunder and lighting lashed across the ground.

Returning to the ground after a break in the weather, Team Wellington Youth went ahead with an excellent finish from Finn Moore. Canterbury responded almost immediately to equalize just before the half time break. The second half was extremely physical and opened up with chances at either end. Jack Imray showed his composure to finish three minutes into injury time to complete a 2 – 1 victory. With the match 200 miles south of Christchurch completed, the celebrations were prolonged as the boys from the Capital had just won the first Youth Championship for the Team Wellington franchise.