TW roll on in Youth League

Team Wellington extended their ASB Youth League winning streak to six matches on Saturday, maintaining their place at the top of the national competition.

The hosts scored four second half goals to record a 4-0 victory over Manawatu United at David Farrington Park in Wellington.

Sam Dewar scored twice in two minutes shortly after the half time break before Levi McFarlane and Finn Moore struck in quick succession on the hour mark. Moore’s goal takes the Team Wellington player to six for the season.

Southern United occupy second spot after Sunday’s 2-0 victory over defending champions Nelson Marlborough Falcons at Logan Park in Dunedin.

Ben Kiore’s fourth minute opener gave the hosts a great start and Benjamin O’Farrell provided the second goal just before the 30 minute mark to give the southerners some breathing room.

The result has Southern three points behind Team Wellington and ahead of Waitakere United on goal difference after the Aucklanders claimed a 3-2 victory over Hawke’s Bay United at Ngahue Reserve on Saturday.

Niko Kirwan opened the scoring for the hosts in the 13th minute before Hawke’s Bay’s Fane Morgan levelled the match three minutes into the second half. Substitute Judd Baker restored Waitakere’s advantage with a 64th minute goal and Jake Porter added an insurance goal with 11 minutes to go.

Mark Holt’s team needed Porter’s contribution as well with Hawke’s Bay’s Thomas Tidy pulling one back in the 86th minute but the visitors couldn’t find an equaliser and the search for their first point of the season goes on.

Canterbury United until hold fourth spot thanks to a 5-2 win over the Wellington Phoenix at ASB Football Park in Christchurch.

The result was paced by a Sho Mathieson hat-trick with other scoring contributions from captain Meysum Shafahi and Byron Heath.

WaiBOP United sit in fifth thanks to a 1-0 victory over Auckland United at St Peter’s College in Cambridge via a 39th minute Jacob Robb strike.

Auckland City occupy seventh position after their 1-1 draw with Heartland Wairarapa at Memorial Park in Masterton on Saturday.

Regont Murati opened the scoring for the visitors just shy of the 20 minute mark before the hosts responded with what proved to be the final goal of the game six minutes before half time.

Round eight of the 11-round competition continues over the weekend of November 28-29.

ASB Youth League 2015 – Round 7, November 21-22

Heartland Wairarapa 1-1 Auckland City FC (half: 1-1)
HW: Josh McMenamin 39’
AC: Regont Murati 19’

Waitakere United 3-2 Hawke’s Bay United (half: 1-0)
WU: Niko Kirwan 13’, Judd Baker 64’, Jake Porter 79’
HB: Fane Morgan 48’, Thomas Tidy 86’

Team Wellington 4-0 Manawatu United (half: 0-0)
TW: Sam Dewar 50’, 51’, Levi McFarlane 61’, Finn Moore 63’
MU: –

WaiBOP United 1-0 Auckland United (half: 1-0)
WB: Jacob Robb 39’
AU: –

Canterbury United 5-2 Wellington Phoenix (half: 2-1)
CU: Meysum Shafahi 26’, Sho Mathieson 47’, 56’, 67’, Byron Heath 67’
WP: Gianni Bouzoukis 31’, 42’

Southern United 2-0 Nelson Marlborough Falcons (half: 2-0)
SU: Ben Kiore 4’, Benjamin O’Farrell 28’
NM: –